Financing

Before you begin looking at homes, you will want to get prequalified by a bank to determine what price range of homes you should be looking at. The bank will verify your income and debt, run your credit report, and issue a Prequalification Letter that you will use when making an offer on a property. This letter will help make your offer more attractive to the seller. 

There are a number of local lenders as well as online companies that offer mortgages. There are several advantages to working with local lenders as you have a name and a face to work with and someplace local to drop off and pick up paperwork. We encourage you to shop around for your loan, speak with more than one bank, and select the bank you are most comfortable with.

Local Lenders

CFCU
Route 281 Tops Plaza
Cortland, NY 13045
607-756-6968
Nicole Cottone
nicole.cottone@mycfcu.com

Commonfund Mortgage Corp.

717 Erie Boulevard West
Syracuse, NY 13204
315-430-1476
John H. Birkmier, Jr.
birkmierj@commonfundmtg.com

First National Bank of Dryden

853 State Route 13
Cortland, NY 13045
607-753-0392
Ehren Bahns
ebahns@drydenbank.com

Key Bank

25 South Main Street
Homer  NY  13077
315-470-5149
Karen Gaebler
karen_gaebler@keybank.com

M&T Bank

118 North Tioga Street
Ithaca, NY 14850
607-274-8991
Ryan Wuerthner
rwuerthner@mtb.com

NBT Bank
65 Main Street
Cortland, NY 13045
607-758-1218
Chris Hotchkiss
chotchkiss@nbtbank.com

Thoma Development

34 Tompkins Street
Cortland, NY 13045
607-753-1433
Linda Armstrong
linda@thomadevelopment.com

Tompkins Trust Company

33 Clinton Avenue
Cortland, NY 13045
607-274-2035
Laurie Anania
lanania@tompkinsfinancial.com

USDA Rural Development

1 North Main Street • 2nd Floor
Cortland  NY  13045
607-753-0851 ext. 4
AnnMarie Donovan
annmarie.donovan@ny.usda.com